Recipe 5 looked ridiculously simple, like how could I go wrong on this one? In addition, upon reading it, this apple pudding looked exactly like the first recipe I’d done in this cookbook. Foolproof.

The recipe set out to prove me wrong and did a great job of it. Maybe I was just super tired and wasn’t thinking straight, but I really didn’t understand what they were asking me to do after a double-take. A couple of triple-takes later, I called my mom over. Now my mother is an excellent cook/baker, and as I’ve stated before, she spoils us with her scrumptious dishes. But even my mom had to re-read the directions a few times. Finally, she realized that I had misinterpreted it, and essentially ruined part of the effect that would have made it different than the first recipe. But we went with it and put it together as if I’d done it right all along. (I had put butter into the applesauce mix instead of leaving the melted butter for browning the bread crumbs)

Way to go, me.

As soon as the timer went off, I grabbed it and virtually slid it across the stove, took a quick picture…

Screenshot_2017-06-05-18-44-28-1-1.png

…and let my family eat whatever they wanted from the pan at their leisure as I went about preparing the next recipe because I was certainly not putting this one on my blog. But soon enough I had to start putting equalizing limits on portions they were taking because it was a hit!

They even rated it, quite immediately: ★★★★☆

I didn’t agree, but they insisted.

It tasted a little less goopy and oatmealish than the first recipe, so I figured it was an improvement. But a four out of five? I mean, I’ll go with it.

The next recipe was named exactly the same: Apple Pudding

After these 6 apple dessert recipes, I’m certain I’m a pro at peeling and cutting apples. Overall, I’ve cut, peeled, sliced and/or cored 9 pounds of apples. That’s 30 granny smith apples.

Throughout the second apple pudding recipe, I learned about steaming, scalding, and double boiling. I had to steam 4 pounds of quartered apples in sugar, which basically just meant I stuck them in a pot on medium-high for 15 minutes. The moisture from the apples mixed with the sugar minorly exploded at 12 minutes however and left a sticky disaster all over the floor and stove.

Meanwhile, I browned butter and breadcrumbs. Once the apples were ready, I rationed the breadcrumbs in inconceivable layers that were required. It was just mostly a mess. When this was in the oven for an hour, I made the vanilla sauce, which is actually a recipe all in itself in the book. This was the tricky part.

Scalding is pretty simple also: I stuck light cream in a small pan and stirred until it was just barely boiling at the edges and I could see thin amounts of steam. I had an egg, egg yolk, and sugar mixed and ready to add to the scalded cream as soon as it was removed from the heat, then I moved this to the double boiler, which is essentially a pot with another half-pot inside that rests on the top. It’s a double boiler for the reason that what’s getting heated doesn’t heat too much for the effect. I stood there constantly stirring for what seemed like an eternity, but a little less than an eternity because I was multitasking and browsing Pinterest. Once it got thick enough that it could make a good layer around the metal spoon I was using, I removed this again from the heat and added vanilla. Once this cooled, I folded in whipped cream I’d prepared in advance. I was pretty proud of that folding I did. So proud, I deemed myself a professional folder inner of all vanilla sauce and whipped cream duos. But then I spread it across the apple pudding prematurely and it melted all the fluffiness.

This wasn’t the reason, obviously, that it didn’t taste great though. It was just more bland than previous recipes. My family couldn’t decide on a rating for it, and I never tried it myself because I had been in the kitchen for 2 hours baking and snacking on so much food, I just felt fat for simply thinking about trying another dessert.

The average would have been a 3.5 out of 5 stars, but again, the half-star issue. But based on their reactions to it, I’m going to round down.

My rating: ★★★☆☆

A brief ode to having no available coffee:
Today I also learned
that one can make
chocolate milk
to look like
coffee
for pictures.

Leave a Reply

