Today was one of those days where I woke up and just really did not want to go for a run. But remembering I had apple pie downstairs having cooled from last night, here I am, consuming apple pie and toffee philosophy ice cream. I suppose now I have to run. But not until I finally write this post.

The apple pie was pretty easy to put together, just as the last three recipes have been. However, I was really confused by the crust; the recipe demanded that I “spoon batter over apples in pan.” And the word “batter” here is very accurate, because it wasn’t at all like the dough I anticipated roling out into cute pie crust designs. Made of butter, sugar, egg, flour, salt and baking powder, it definitely resembled a near cookie-dough consistency. But oh my gosh it was the best pie crust I’ve ever tasted. It was so sweet! It was basically like sugar cookie-covered apples.

Spooning the batter on top didn’t seem right, but I did my best anyway, and it got me really nervous that it would burn in weird, sharp and jagged places. But because it contained so much butter, the batter smoothed over and created a fluffy bread-roll appearance across the top of the pie.

Unfortunately, because I left it out overnight to cool, the fluffiness collapsed in on itself, so it doesn’t look quite as attractive in the picture. Regardless, I’m pleased with how it turned out.

In the actual apple mix, the option was to include either chopped pecans or walnuts. Walnuts are cheaper so that’s what I chose, even though they’re not my favorite. But I couldn’t really taste them, and I doubt my brothers even noticed they were there.

The recipe suggested serving the pie with whipped cream, but I was out of that, so toffee philosophy ice cream it was. The two didn’t go together too badly.

If it wasn’t for needing a rating, I probably wouldn’t have let my brothers also have apple pie for breakfast (because that’s so unhealthy), but I guess it ended up being a great decision because they rated it really well. (Though it took a bit to get it out of them because they wanted to rate it an R or a 10/10. They knew what I meant.)

Again, I totally forgot to track the total prep time. The thing was in the oven for 35 minutes, and I probably spent a half an hour putting it together.

My rating: ★★★★★

(This was again after 4.5 stars, but when I explained that I couldn’t do a half star, they told me to round up. I have very supportive brothers.)

 

Leave a Reply

